|Topic 1| Reflection #MANG2049

Topic 1 Reflection.jpgSomething is wrong if I am still unable to explain the concept behind Digital “visitors” and “residents” after reading all the articles and blog posts on it. Lucky for me, everyone did a real good job explaining and giving their insights, I hope my post was able to do the same for them!

The gist of this topic is that it is about time we migrated from Prensky’s “Digital Immigrants” and “Digital Natives” framework to White’s ‘Visitors and Residents’ Model, as mentioned by Klarissa. Like myself, many of my peers (80% of the posts I have read!) are unable to decide if they are a “visitor” or a “resident”. They did however give very interesting examples for each of them. Jia Jiun brought up a point about us being dependent on the internet to help us remember our passwords and usernames. It made me realise that we are dependent on the Internet in many subtle ways that we may not even realise. Perhaps all of us may really be a digital “resident” in many ways than the other.

I really like this module, it has such a different way of educating us!!! I feel like this is ten times more productive and effective than most modules I have taken in my education life hahah but I think the best part is how it allows us to express ourselves differently, and it gave me the opportunity to see how great my peers are as writers. Some things I definitely learnt while reading and wish to apply to my future posts are how my peers made their content more interesting. The simple use of a poll by Maureen made her content more interactive, and the use of bolding by Norman helped me focus on points he was trying to put across which I might otherwise have just skimmed past. Many also used the help of videos and images to enhance the readability of their posts.

Just the first post and I am already having fun! Looking forward to creating more content for this module~

(342 Words)

Blogs I have commented on:
Klarissa
https://klarissacjj.wordpress.com/2016/11/03/topic-1-digital-visitors-vs-digital-residents/

Maureen
https://maureenharend.wordpress.com/2016/11/03/digital-visitors-and-digital-residents/ 

Leave a Reply

